Looking Forward

I don’t think any person in the world can say that 2020 went as expected. There have been times that I wished the whole year could be scrapped. These last few months have been especially hard, and it’s even harder to try and imagine what the new year will look like.

In Scripture, we are reminded that nothing is guaranteed.

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit”; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.” But now you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.

James 4:13-16

God knows the future, and we do not. God has a purpose for 2020 even when I see none. If nothing else, I am reminded of what Thomas Á Kempis wrote in “The Imitation of Christ”:

“If men used as much care in uprooting vices and implanting virtues as they do in discussing problems, there would not be so much scandal in the world, or such laxity in religious organizations. On the day of judgment, surely, we shall not be asked what we have read but what we have done; not how well we have spoken but how well we have lived.”

What then? Can we still make plans and resolution for the coming year? Certainly! Provided Our most present resolution is to know Christ and love Him in word and deed. Our greatest plan ought to be that we will live for Christ and die to ourselves.

For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.

1 Corinthians 2:2

May we be so before God this year.


As of right now, I have some tentative plans and goals for 2021. The last few months, I haven’t written much or spent much time posting content. This year, I hope to post just twice a month to save my creativity and my sanity. I will also be taking more time to read, as I read very little last year. In case you want to read along with me, here’s my TBR stack:

  • The Imitation of Christ (started)
  • The Weekend Novelist (started)
  • Be Still My Soul
  • Topical Memory System
  • Joyfully at Home
  • Spurgeon on Prayer
  • The Irresistible Novelist
  • The Screwtape Letters

Note: Upon starting The Weekend Novelist, I would not recommend reading it. The example content is vulgar and inappropriate. The information can be found elsewhere.


I’m also waiting to hear back about a job application and a college application. Lord willing, I will be working this spring and attending university in the fall.

The final goal for 2021 is to draft my second novel. It may be a tall order, but I’m committed to trying.

This post was more personal that I generally go, but I appreciate you taking the time to read. Happy New Year!

Leave a comment